The Warriors of the Wonderful Sound - SoundPath

Regular price $20.00

"SoundPath is a long-form composition by the late groundbreaking pianist Muhal Richard Abrams, the resulted from a commission by Philadelphia-based saxophonist Bobby Zankel for his ensemble Warriors of the Wonderful Sound.

The piece, which was performed live twice in 2012 and 2018, roams from section to section, tempered by the broad experience of conductor and alto saxophonist Marty Ehrlich, a former collaborator of Abrams. He, better than anyone, understands the author’s vision and where this music stands."  - JazzTrail

Ars Nova Workshop is proud to have produced and co-released this record.  


Marty Ehrlich: conduction, alto sax; Bobby Zankel: alto sax; Julian Pressley: alto sax; Robert DeBellis: tenor and soprano saxes; Hafez Modirzadeh: tenor sax; Mark Allen: baritone sax; Dave Ballou: trumpet; Dwayne Eubanks:  trumpet; Graham Haynes: cornet; Josh Evans: trumpet; Steve Swell:  trombone; Michael Dessen: trombone: Alfred Patterson: trombone; Jose Davila: bass trombone; Tom Lawton  piano; Michael Formanek: bass; Chad Taylor: drums.